On 20th Mac 2017, the Honourable Minister of Higher Education, YB Dato' Seri Idris Bin Jusoh presented the Certificate of Self-Accreditation to new eight Higher Education Providers (HEPs) and presented Minister's congratulations letter to eight universities who manage to maintain their self-accreditation status in a ceremony held in Putrajaya.

The self-accreditation status is awarded to universities that have established and practice robust internal quality assurance systems. These are assured through Institutional Audits conducted by MQA throughout 2015 and 2016.

The eight new institutions that have been awarded the Self-Accreditation's Status are:
  • Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)
  • Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP)
  • International Medical University (IMU)
  • Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM)
  • International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM)
  • Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR)
  • Universiti Tenaga National (UNITEN)
  • Universiti Multimedia (MMU)

The self-accreditation status entitles a provider (HEP) to self-accredit its programmes through their internal quality assurance system guided by the Malaysian Qualifications Framework (MQF) as well as relevant standards and policies of MQA and the Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE). Nevertheless, the self-accrediting entitlement shall not include professional programmes which still need to undergo accreditation by professional bodies.

MQA has maintained the self-accreditation status awarded to the first eight universities in 2010. The institutions are:
  • Universiti Putra Malaysia
  • Universiti Malaya
  • Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia
  • Universiti Sains Malaysia
  • Monash University Malaysia
  • The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus
  • Curtin University, Sarawak Malaysia
  • Swinburne University of Technology, Sarawak Campus


    Tingkat 14B, Menara PKNS-PJ,
    17, Jalan Yong Shook Lin,
    46050 Petaling Jaya,
    Selangor Darul Ehsan

    +603 - 7968 7002